An employer must always pay at least minimum wage to its employees for all hours worked. If the travel occurs within the state of California, then the minimum rate of $10.50 an hour applies. Otherwise, the Federal rate of $7.25 applies.
Live-out personal attendants: Daily overtime is required for live-out personal attendants if the employee works more than 9 hours in a day or 40 hours in a 7-day workweek. Live-in personal attendants: Overtime compensation is required for live-in personal attendants if they work more than 9 hours in a day or 45 hours in a […]
Personal attendants get overtime pay for daily hours over 9, and for weekly hours over 40. This contrasts with other household employees who get overtime pay for daily hours over 8, and for weekly hours over 40.
California’s nanny tax law requires that all housegold employees be treated by the hour and paid hourly wages rather than periodic salaries.
You must provide a new household employee with a “new hire form” that lists the specific schedule of hours to be worked each day and each week, together with her pay rate for regular as well as overtime pay. The form also lists your name, street address and telephone number, as well as the same […]
California law requires employers to provide a paystub each pay period showing gross and net wages earned by date and divided into regular and overtime wage rates, all deductions, the employer’s name and address, and your Employer Identification Number (EIN). Kindly Care is happy to prepare your caregiver’s paystubs as one of our many services.
California law limits the amount that a household employer can garnish (take) from an employee’s wages for repayment of debts at no more than 25% of their wages after deductions. A court order needs to be secured before you can garnish wages.
In some states, live-in caregivers do not have to be paid for up to 8 hours of sleeping time when they work 24 consecutive hours or more.
Prior or upon terminating your caregiver, you must give her a “change in the employment relationship” form and provide her with relevant information on retirement benefits and disability insurance (or other information on programs that may benefit the employee).
Although unemployment, disability, and worker’s comp insurance are mandated by California law, health insurance is optional. There is, however, a tax incentive to offer this type of insurance: families with only one household employee can make contributions toward their employee’s health insurance, with the result that neither the employer nor the employee regard this as […]